New
Find
Notify
Tools

Bullet for furbearer season
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I'm gearing up for some furbearer season this year. My .243 shoots 100 gr interlocks real well. Is there a recomended bullet for hunting pelts. We'll be hunting bobcat and coyotee.

Gene

You are who you choose to be.
Are you who you want to be?

Posts: 125 | Location: Altus, OK,USA | Registered: 30 March 2001Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
will you be calling them?

Mark D

Posts: 1089 | Location: Bozeman, Mt | Registered: 05 August 2005Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
We probably will call by mouth.

Posts: 125 | Location: Altus, OK,USA | Registered: 30 March 2001Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Gene I've a lot of experience on the yotes, for what it is worth I'd go with the 55 Noz BT. I'd drive it hard and try like heck to avoid any big bones (spine,shoulder,breast).

If you do that this bullet will do just fine for you, and a whole lot better than anything else I've tried.

I don't know if Sierra makes the 60 HP any more if they do or if you could find any these would be very good for you as well.

Good luck

Mark D

Posts: 1089 | Location: Bozeman, Mt | Registered: 05 August 2005Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Bobby Tomek
posted Hide Post
Gene-The bullets Mark suggested, given typical .243 WCF velocity, will do OK on a coyote but will leave a gaping exit on a 'cat. You'll be highly disappointed. There is nothing but compromise in fur-friendly loads (if there truly is such a thing), and what you do not want to try is using FMJs, which, by the way, can leave long rips or grapefruit-sized exits as well -- and may allow the animal to escape.