Find
Notify
Tools

22-250 Rem
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of model7LSS
posted
i just bought a new Ruger M77 target grey model in 22-250 Rem. I ran some cheap winchester 45 gr JHPs through it and got very good groups. when i shot some Winchester 55gr Ballistic Silvertips and Hornady 55gr VMAX molys in it, my results were not so pleasing. The gun has a 14" twist. Any thoughts on whats going on, could the moly be the problem?

Auburn University BS '09, DVM '17

Posts: 604 | Location: Selma, AL | Registered: 16 January 2005Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I'm no expert, but your twist may be a little slow for the heavier bullets. Mine is a 12" twist, but I only shoot 50 grainers. I'm sure some more experienced shooters will have more to add.

One of Us
posted Hide Post
Have a Winchester Heavy Varminter in 22-250 it has a 1 in 14 twist. Shoot both 50 and 55's no problem. It may be an over all lenght thing. Compare the for OAL. Your rifle may just like a little jump before the bullet hits the lans.

Posts: 1679 | Location: Renton, WA. | Registered: 16 December 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I have one also....Funny but the ones I have seen seem to like the " run of the mill" bullets better and seem to throw loads with premium bullets all over the place....seems to be a Ruger trade mark.. their barrels in 22.250 on that, seem to also run from A to Z in quality or lack thereof...

I usually hate H 4895... but for economy shooting... 32.5 grains of it, and about any 55 grain "El Cheapo" bullet, it shoots fantastically, even the 55 grain bulk FMJ bullets....So I just "live with it" in that configuration....

I'd also wonder if the powders in the Ballistic Tips and the V Maxes might have something to do with it....

If you are strictly handloading, I'd play around with some loads and powders...