THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM SMALL CALIBER FORUM

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Rifles  Hop To Forums  Small Calibers    Favorite groundhog cartridge and gun

Moderators: Paul H
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Favorite groundhog cartridge and gun
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I'm not looking to buy or necessarily for advice. I've been shooting rifles and groudhogs for over 40 years in central Pa. I'm just curious as to what other people use in cartridges, rifles and why you like them. I've used just about everything there is over they years from 17 Mach 4 to a 6mmRem Rem 700 varmint special that weighed about 12 lbs. Anymore, I usually settle for a 6lb.Sako 17 Rem or 222 or occaisonly I get out a 9lb 6BR when I want to shoot quite a ways off. Tell me what you like.

Posts: 221 | Location: central Pa. | Registered: 29 November 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Knobmtn,

I started with the .22 LR and head shots with hollow points are effective. Then I had a couple of .222R's and shot the most chucks with them. They were only 225 yd rifles however although I got a few just under 300.

I had a heavy .243 Win all this time but never used it that much. It makes a lot of noise. When I got a .219 Improved Zipper on an old High Wall I was really in style. That rifle is heavy as well but better balanced than the 243 and I hit well with it. It was an R2 Lovell and has a 1-16 twist. It will shoot the 50 gr Sierra easily to 3600 fps. When the plastic tipped 40's came out I switched to them.

Now my primary varmint rifle is a 220 Swift. But I don't shoot woodchucks with it even though they are my favorite target. That's because there are no woodchucks left in CT or VT. None at all.

On a trip on I-80 thru PA I saw woodchucks.

Posts: 5543 | Registered: 09 December 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post