Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

6.5x57 BRNO
 Login/Join

posted
Just bought a Mod 22 full stocked carbine today. I've no experience with this caliber. Who makes ammo. Recipes for loading? Experience with BRNOs?

one of us
posted Hide Post
welcome to a small fraternity that shoot a 6.5 x 57.

As far as ammo, i sure hope you handload.

I shoot one, in a Winchester Model 70, that i had rebarreled.
It actually is my favorite caliber.

You can use 7 x 57 brass, and neck down.
Or use 6mm Remington, or 257 Roberts brass and neck up.

For loading info, anything listed for a 260 Remington or a 6.5 x 55 Mauser will work just fine. You can get a few more grains in there, but that info for those two calibers is more than close enough.

also know that there is a slight difference in a 6.5 x 57 and the old 6.5 x 257 Roberts that use to be popular for making ammo in the old Arisakas after WW2.

BRNO makes a great action.

Posts: 2889 | Location: Southern OREGON | Registered: 27 May 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of GBF
posted Hide Post
Seafire since you are such a 6.5mm fan, how do the 6.5mm oldies compare (6.5x57 and 6.5x55) ?

Is there any notable difference in velocity or ballistics ?

Is the 57mm cartridge more capable to handle heavier bullets than the 55mm one ?

Regards

Posts: 392 | Location: Insula Thule | Registered: 03 January 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Georg:

To answer your questions, no there is not really any noticable difference for a handloader. The gains are really not much in the way of velocity and definitely not in the way of trajectory.

I am a fan based on the efficiency of the bore size and its bullets. For heavier bullets a 6.5 x 55 or x 57 can have a little more to offer than a 260 for instance. However, I think this has more to do with magazine length than anything else, ( seating depth).

I am sure a 260 Rem would be very close if it was chambered in a long action, instead of a short action.