New
Find
Notify
Tools

Barnes TSX in 224
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I bought some TSX bullets in 53 and 62 grs with the intent to load the 62gr in an AR-15 and the 53gr in a 22-250. Have any of you loaded these bullets in these calibers? What is your recipe? The game will be deer and hogs in Texas. Have any of yall shot deer and hogs with these bullet weights in these calibers?

Perry

Posts: 2247 | Location: South Texas | Registered: 01 November 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Yes, I have loaded the 53gr TSX with Varget to about 3800fps in a 22-250 and shot about a dozen deer over the last two seasons. I haven't recovered a single bullet and the only oops was one from shooter error. A follow up and another shot was needed. Shot distances were from 40-350 yards.

I can only imagine the 62gr will have more penetration. The TSX's are long bullets, so the only issue you may have is stabilization on slower twist rifles.

I have zero experience on hogs.

Posts: 2034 | Location: Black Mining Hills of Dakota | Registered: 22 June 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Coltchris
posted Hide Post
I've tried a few 53 gr. TSX"s in my Tikka T3 Varmint, but can only get a couple shots within 1" and groups run 1.25 to 1.75". Going to try other loads and OAL's, but may not work because of 1:14 twist. Shoots 50 gr. V-Max at 0.3". I'm also interested in posts you get here!

Talk is cheap - except when Congress does it.

Personally, I carry a gun because I'm too young to die and too old to
take an ass whoopin'

NRA Life Member

Posts: 837 | Location: NW Michigan | Registered: 02 February 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by perry:
I bought some TSX bullets in 53 and 62 grs with the intent to load the 62gr in an AR-15 and the 53gr in a 22-250.
Perry

I to was thinking of trying these in my AR. 1:9" twist. Proabably give BenchMark and Varget a go.
Have you tried them yet perry?

One of Us
posted Hide Post