Find
Notify
Tools

Savage Model 11 223
 Login/Join

one of us
Picture of Jerry Eden
posted
I have been thinking of buying a Savage Model 11 in 223. I have no experience with any Savage Rifles post WWII. Any comments or advice.

Thanks

Jerry

NRA Benefactor Life Member

Posts: 1297 | Location: Chandler arizona | Registered: 29 August 2003Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of zimbabwe
posted Hide Post
I purchased a 'Hog Hunter' in .223 and find it to be very accurate, consistently under an inch with factory loads. Nice semi heavy barrel and the Accu-trigger is fantastic after you get used to it. It's my only plastic stocked regular rifle and I don't mind the plastic on it,very tasteful and shaped nicely and above all fits. I find it to be a good gun for the money. Only Savage other than 99's I have any experience with.

SCI Life Member
NRA Patron Life Member
DRSS

Posts: 2786 | Location: Green Valley,Az | Registered: 04 January 2005Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Jerry Eden
posted Hide Post
Thanks, I'll let you know how this one shoots. I mounted a Swarovski 3X9, and if it dosen't rain tomorrow I will try it out.

Jerry

Posts: 1297 | Location: Chandler arizona | Registered: 29 August 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Jerry Eden
posted Hide Post
I did shoot it today, best group around .75". I gave up after I noticed the action was lose in the stock. Seems the pillars, this is a wood stock, were a little to long. I took .020 off of them, and now the float is good, and the action is secure in the stock. The Accu-Trigger by the way breaks at a very nice 2.75 lbs, according to the RCBS Scale.

Jerry

one of us
Picture of Jerry Eden
posted Hide Post
So far, this one has not been much of a shooter. The throat is longer than I can reach with a 55 grain bullet. Anyone know what twist this rifle may have?

Thanks

one of us
posted Hide Post