New
Find
Notify
Tools

Browning 1885 Low Wall
 Login/Join

<Doc Garnett>
posted
Handled one of these chambered for .223, recently. Liked it. But the seller wanted too much for it. It started the old familiar cravings 'tho... So, please tell me if you have any experience with these rifles... Accuracy potential? Mounts, rings and scopes? Any peculiarities to these rifles? I have no experience with falling blocks, at all so any info would be welcome.
Thanks.
-- Doc

<Big Stick>
posted
I had a pair of B-78's,in 25-06 and 243.

I favored them,over various No.1's I've had. Their triggers were excellent and they were extremely accurate. They don't suffer the forend woes,of the Ruger.

Sadly,both were stolen and I never replaced them. For a piece of functional Class,I'd say you'd be pressed hard,to do better...........

<auto>
posted
I have an 1885 Highwall in 22.250 which I really like. It shoots tiny groups, and the 28" barrel lets me use some slower buning powders as well. The adjustable trigger is set all the way down to "soft" if there was such a thing. What I am saying is the trigger is adjustable, but could be lighter. I like the feature of ejecting the brass. There is a small blade in the tang area which has 3 different settings. It will either eject completely over your shoulder to the right, or to the left or you can set the blade in the middle and the brass will retract from the chamber and just lie there and wait for you to pick it up. Neat stuff. The lever on the 1885 is a lot more comfortable to shoot than the Ruger #3. Although, I would not pass up a good deal on a #3, I like those almost as much. Overall, the 1885 is an easy gun to shoot and like.

<Tom Blimkie>
posted
Bigstick, too bad about the 78s being stolen.
I also have a pair of 78's one in 45/70 and the other in .243, and just found out yesteday that there were only 40,000 78s made, and ONLY 350 chambered for the .243, which makes them a pretty rare bird.

Tom

one of us
Picture of ForrestB