New
Find
Notify
Tools

Kimber Hunter
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I'm looking at a Kimber Hunter in 257 Roberts. Anyone have any experience with this model good or bad?

Posts: 1230 | Location: Saugerties, New York | Registered: 12 March 2002Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Snellstrom
posted Hide Post
I have no experience with that rifle, I think a member on here maybe GSSP has one, I am probably wrong.
If you like it buy it I have no experience with Kimbers but I hear hot and cold about them, people either get a great one or they aren't happy.
Hard to go wrong with a 257 Roberts in a nice rifle.

Posts: 5604 | Location: Eastern plains of Colorado | Registered: 31 October 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of PWS
posted Hide Post
I bought one in 6.5CM for my wife this fall and she has taken a ram, one caribou and two blacktails. She let me carry it for another two bucks. We both agree it's a great rifle to carry around and hunt with, being 6.5lbs scoped, slung and loaded. It's also proven to hold its zero and average just over 1MOA for many three shot groups at 100 and 200 yards. It's also soaked up a lot of rain and inclement weather and has been bashed around in the alders and has taken it all in stride.

There are a few things we're not particularly fond of though. On the subjective side, the grip is very open almost to the point that it feels like a straight stock. It's not a game changer but we both would prefer a tighter grip, thinking that it would aid a little in controlling the rifle especially since it's on the light side.