New
Find
Notify
Tools

Looking for a 25.06 load
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Hi fellas....I am new to the reloading scene..I am working on a 25.06....bout to make a possible trade on it...anyway....I would like to use this on deer and elk,no more than 250 yards...mainly deer and the odd "yote" if around....
Here is what I have so far;
IMR4831
SPEER 100 gr in hollow point and SP boattail
NOSLER 115 gr ballistic tip
I managed to get a really good deal on this stuff,was the only reason I bought it

Does anyone have a suggestion for a good load with these items,or should I buy something different all together....thanks

Bob

Posts: 37 | Location: Kootenays | Registered: 28 January 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Well what you got will do you for deer, but you might have your eyes bug out of your head when you see what those Ballistic Tips will do to a deer, it will kill it alright but you might loose a bit more meat than you are comfortable with.
The Speer bullets hould be OK but i have no experience with either of those, I suspect that a bad angle shot and things might not go so well. I am a big fan of the Nosler partition bullet 100's or 115's would be fine, and might all time favorite is the 100r. Barnes TSX.
IMR 4831 will work good for you buy a good manual or two and work up your loads cautiously.

Posts: 120 | Location: Alberta | Registered: 16 October 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
So the Barnes TSX work pretty good on deer then eh.........can always buy some of them....what would you recommend for a suitable powder....I picked up all of this stuff for $75,which I thought was pretty good as compared to their regular prices........I can alwys reload this stuff and just blast it off for playing around with anyway............if ya have a good load or a good idea..I am all ears Wink...thanks

one of us
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by chola: