Find
Notify
Tools

.264 Win Mag ???
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
Guys,

I am new to small bores. My past preference has been to things at least .308 caliber but realized I need something between .224 and the .308 to complete the battery.

Just acquired a Mark X barreled action in .264 WM with a 1:9 twist but know little save that it is in about the right size to fit in my battery.

Would appreciate any additional background on the caliber, the available bullets, and its good and bad attributes.

Thanks!

Mike

--------------
DRSS, Womper's Club, NRA Life Member/Charter Member NRA Golden Eagles ...
Knifemaker, http://www.mstarling.com

Posts: 6199 | Location: Charleston, WV | Registered: 31 August 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Mike, I own one with a 1:9 twist and it will do everything I ask it to do. Some say they will not stabilize the 140 and up bullets, but mine always has. You probably know that you can either buy 264 brass or you can just resize 7mag brass and get the same thing. I shoot mainly 125 Partitions or 129 Hornadys in mine since it is more for longer range whitetail hunting. I shoot more for accuracy, so I don't load it really hot. I shoot either if these bullets with 60 grains of IMR4831 and it has outstanding accuracy.

If I was to go elk hunting with it, I would load 140 partitions and be perfectly happy.

Larry

"Peace is that brief glorious moment in history, when everybody stands around reloading" -- Thomas Jefferson

Posts: 3942 | Location: Kansas USA | Registered: 04 February 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Larry,

Thank you for the comments!

Some reports of limited barrel life in this caliber. Any comments?

Thanks,

Mike

--------------
DRSS, Womper's Club, NRA Life Member/Charter Member NRA Golden Eagles ...
Knifemaker, http://www.mstarling.com

Posts: 6199 | Location: Charleston, WV | Registered: 31 August 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post