New
Find
Notify
Tools

My First .30-'06
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I've been shooting for 40 years, mainly .22's, .44mag, .375 H&H and shotgun sports. Yesterday, I went into a small, local gun store to buy a 9.3X62 and walked out with a centenniel sweetheart! A Win M70 Classic Sporter LT, .30-'06! I saw her standing there in the rack all beautiful and proud and she said: "I've been waiting for you...take me home!" Ya know, I know "everyone owns one" and that it's just plain Jane, but why am I so enamored with my new gun? I've reloaded and shot many loads downrange, but I have never been more excited to do some load development than with my new -'06!
Do you remember your first -'06? Go ahead and share with me your stories. Maybe it was the time Grandpa brought his over to give you for your graduation or you inherited Uncle Joes.
Share your ott six stories, if you like. After all, every gun has stories to tell...

SCI, NRA Life Member

Warm trails and blue skies!

one of us
posted Hide Post
My first '06 was nearly my last. In 1966, my father bought me a $55 rifle, which I now know was a Santa Barbara Mauser action around a 30-06. The trigger was awful, requiring me to use my stronger middle finger to fire. The rifle beat the daylights out of me, and I've avoided the caliber ever since.

Like you, though, I commemorated USRAC's passing and the 100th anniversary of the cartridge by recently buying a very nice Stainless M70 Featherweight. I think I'm over my dislike of the round...

Jaywalker

Posts: 1006 | Location: Texas | Registered: 30 December 2003Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of bartsche
posted Hide Post
[QUOTE]Originally posted by ScottW:

Scott, does Gibson's still exist? roger

Old age is a high price to pay for maturity!!! Some never pay and some pay and never reap the reward. Wisdom comes with age! Sometimes age comes alone..

Posts: 10226 | Location: Temple City CA | Registered: 29 April 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post