THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM SMALL CALIBER FORUM

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Rifles  Hop To Forums  Small Calibers    hunting pronghorn with a 250 Savage

Moderators: Paul H
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

hunting pronghorn with a 250 Savage
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Hey guys
Was at the range today and shot a fantastic group with my Ruger 77 International in 250 savage with an older 100gr nosler solid base bullet with 38gr of IMR 4350.
How long a shot is about the max for the 250 savage? Thanks FS

Posts: 698 | Location: Edmonton Alberta | Registered: 18 January 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Code4
posted Hide Post
I've been shooting a 24" bull barrel 250-3000 for 13 years. At 200 yards the wind really kicks in for 100's and I find shot dispersion with handloads is 'hunting accuracy' but not necessarily close enough to make me feel really confident. I also have (had) a box of the 100 silvertips and they were uber accurate at 100 yards with that barrel on my rifle.

Shoot your rifle at the range you expect to hunt at, in wind and in still air.

My son shoots a .243 with 100 grain handloads and I have observed a real 'time of flight' difference between the two at longer ranges.

Posts: 1433 | Location: Australia | Registered: 21 March 2008Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of bartsche
posted Hide Post
oldIt is possible for that 100 grain bullet to be traveling at 2350 fps at 300 yds. That's 25-35s muzzle velocity. There are those on this forum who have used the 25-35 often on elk and mule deer with success. That being the case the answer to your question is with your experience, and confidence level in you and your equipment. beer roger

Old age is a high price to pay for maturity!!! Some never pay and some pay and never reap the reward. Wisdom comes with age! Sometimes age comes alone..

Posts: 10226 | Location: Temple City CA | Registered: 29 April 2003Reply With Quote