New
Find
Notify
Tools

Sierra 270 140 GK
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
Any feed back on the Sierra game king hp? I ask because I got these on accident but they were cheap. I have never used a HP on deer sized game before so just asking. I don't want a mess when dressing nor issues in the field.
I wanted to try a 140 over the 130's I have been using. If it ain't broke don't fix it applies here fairly well though.
Jeff

Posts: 655 | Location: Kansas US of A | Registered: 03 March 2002Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I haven't used that bullet but I have shot some SGK bullets without the hollow point. The GameKing is a fairly fragile bullet and has a reputation of not penetrating after contacting heavier bones. If it were me I would find a tougher bullet, which doesn't mean an expensive bullet. I have shot many deer with the 270Win loaded with Hornady 140 grain BTSP bullets without a single failure at ranges from 75 yards up to 300 yards without any tracking.

Dennis
Life member NRA

Posts: 1191 | Location: Ft. Morgan, CO | Registered: 15 April 2005Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
The 140 HPBT GK is a tougher bullet than the 140 SBT GK I have used the Sierra HPBTs with very good results (140/270; 165/06; 120/25/06) on deer. As long as you keep MV below about 3000, I think you will be pleased with the results. Oh, they also tend to be very accurate, IME.

let us know how they work out.

Posts: 1416 | Location: Texas | Registered: 02 May 2003Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of eagle27
posted Hide Post
I have always used Sierra GK SPB bullets as I found they were consistent killers, consistently accurate, and also very linear in terms of pressure when working up loads i.e. will take heavier charges of powder giving higher velocity with no pressure spike surprises.