Find
Notify
Tools

257 Roberts Question
 Login/Join

one of us
Picture of ramrod340
posted
I have a question for you 257 Roberts owners. I've decided to build my petite wife a new ultra light rifle using this cartridge for her birthday. I have a light weight Hi-Tech stock and going to install a slim 21" barrel. The barrel raises the question.

I have numerous other "improved" type chambering and I was wondering if you thought the 21" would be long enough to see any benefit from an improved case. While I have no direct experience with this particular cartridge I'm leaning towards NOT going with an improved chamber.

I would appreciate you thoughts especially if you have first hand experience.

Paul

Posts: 12881 | Location: Mexico, MO | Registered: 02 April 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
ramrod: I have both a 257 and a 257AI. The are both great cartridges. The AI should give you about 100fps more velocity than good handloads in the 257. You have the hassle of fireforming the brass. But once you do, it lasts a long time. I find myself using the AI more than the standard version. Why? Well because the 120 gr bullet is going 3050 fps rather than 2950. I know.... I'll probably never notice the difference in the field. I'd probably recommend a standard 257 for the wife. But only you can decide if the extra zip is worth it. Good luck, Jim

Posts: 1416 | Location: Texas | Registered: 02 May 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
You may want to consider the improved version. You can still use standard rounds in it and if you decide you wanted the extra fps, you'd be able to do it.

Bob257

Posts: 434 | Location: Pennsylvania, USA | Registered: 22 November 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of ramrod340
posted Hide Post
I have several Improved cartridges several of my own design. I know that the 257 Imp should give about 200fps and that if the chamber is cut correctly I can fire standard loads without a problem.