THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM SMALL CALIBER FORUM

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Rifles  Hop To Forums  Small Calibers    64 gr Nosler Bonded 223 bullet

Moderators: Paul H
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

64 gr Nosler Bonded 223 bullet
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Has any one here had any experience with the new Nosler 64 Gr Bonded Solid Base 223 bullet against deer and or hogs?

I recently got my order in for 500 before Shooters Pro Shop dried up.

I have a lot of experience with the Speer 70gr bullet and 1/12 twist rifles.

My wife bought me a new M4 Forgery Colt last November. I think the 1/9 twist is over stressing this bullet and wanted to change to a tougher one. So when SPS had these available I picked up 500. (I think the higher RPM's of the 1/9 twist is just too much for the older designed bullet)

Any experience with the Nosler or the similar bear claw products?

Hank

Posts: 83 | Location: Saudi/Bahrain/Texas | Registered: 21 May 2008Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of BigNate
posted Hide Post
Why do you think the 70gr Speer is overstressed?

Have not used this exact bullet. In fact if you just ordered these a few days ago it may be partially your fault. Eeker I saw them available while at work, waited to see what bullets I had in the cupboard and when I logged in to order some they were gone.

I've used 60gr Nos PT, on deer with good results. I've also tried the Win 64gr PP, and like them as much as the 60gr partition. I don't see why the bonded from Nosler wouldn't be perfectly acceptable.

Posts: 2376 | Location: Idaho Panhandle | Registered: 27 November 2001Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post