New
Find
Notify
Tools

600/700N.E.
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Im kinda new here so if this has been asked befor don't flame me. Has anyone tryed to neck a .700 case down and put a .600 bullet on it. Im also new to the whole wildcat thing to so if this is a impossible thing to do, don't flame me. Just think it'd be kinda cool.

Cory

Still saving up for a .500NE double rifle(Searcy of course)

Posts: 189 | Location: Southern Maryland | Registered: 10 October 2005Reply With Quote
Picture of Paul H
posted Hide Post
Not that I know of. Considering how expensive 700 NE brass is, and the limited number of actions that can handle it, I believe it is unlikely to be used as a basis of a wildcat. There is also the issue of componet primers, the 700 NE uses a special Federal primer to ignite the large amount of powder in the case. The federal 215 primer isn't hot enough to get consistant ingition with such large amounts of powder.

The two practicle options that I would look at are the 600 Overkill and it's varient, basically a belted version of the 600 JDJ, or using the 50 BMG as a basis, which provides inexpspensive strong brass and a primer to light off the charges.

Posts: 7213 | Location: Alaska | Registered: 27 February 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of ROSCOE
posted Hide Post
Paul,
Where to you get this primer? I know Federal makes one for the 470NE however my understanding is that they are not sold to the public.

R. Lee Ermey: "The deadliest weapon in the world is a Marine and his rifle."