New
Find
Notify
Tools

Case Forming Attrition
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I am attempting to return a vetran varmint rifle to service. It is a High Wall in a form of .219 Zipper Imp, using the full Zipper case length and radius shoulders. I have an RCBS .219 Zipper Imp. forming die set, a .219 Zippoer Imp 28 degree shoulder sizing die from Hollywood gun shop and a radius shoulder sizing and seater die set, maker unknown. I have found that it is necessary to complete a case through the 28 degee sizer before using the radius sizer or the shoulder will crumple. My first batch of cases were new Rem 30-30 brass. I used Imperial wax liberaly and sized slowly, but still lost about 10% to crumpled shoulders in the sizer. I am new to wildcats. Is this loss rate excessive? Would annealing first help on make it worse? Thanks in advance for your opinions.

Posts: 126 | Location: nothern ca | Registered: 29 August 2010Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
How many dies in the form set? 30-30 brass can be a little soft, annealing could help..... or make it worse! I have a set of 219 donaldson wasp form dies, that seem to work well with very little case loss, and thats with fired brass to start with. Make sure you dont use to much lube as that can also cause problems.
I wish you were nearby, I enjoy working out case forming tricks and troubles.

One of Us
posted Hide Post