New
Find
Notify
Tools

Small Capacity 6mm
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I was wondering what the small capacity 6mm is? The purpose of this round would be pest control in a suburban area. Has anyone ever necked a 22 Hornet up to .243? I didn't know if this case could handle being necked up. I have no experience with the Hornet but have read about fragile case necks in this small round. Is this worth pursuing or should I just look into down loading one of the smaller 6's like the 6x45? Thanks for any input. Sean

Posts: 537 | Location: Vermont | Registered: 04 March 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by LoneEagle:
I was wondering what the small capacity 6mm is?

For Americans: the .25-20.
For the British: the 297-250 Rook.
For Germans: the 6,5 x 27 R.

All are classics, all are suitable for your intended application (the .25-20 the least).

Carcano

Posts: 2452 | Location: Old Europe | Registered: 23 June 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
22 hornet is easy to neck up , up to 270 cal to make the 270 REN ( use in MOA pistol and Merill pistol, some T/C too I think )

6/22 Hornet with 105/107 match bullet is very efficient in suppresed small arm for pest control , nice rabbit gun

so that can make a small cartridge in 6 mm

6/222 is very nice too but far powerfull
6/221 is nice to

with more forming work you can use:
7.63 Mauser just run deep the case in a 7 BR die and after in a 6 BR die to get a 30� shoulder with 6 mm neck , 7.63 Mauser can use 223 bolt face on small brno or even T/C frame
357 mag case are nice but you need more step to make the shoulder if you go with 20� shoulder you are able to use
308 WIN , 7.08 die , 260 die and 243 die as last , use Lee die is lower cost than custom forming die

good shooting

DAN TEC

Posts: 267 | Location: France | Registered: 27 July 2002Reply With Quote
Picture of Paul H
posted Hide Post