New
Find
Notify
Tools

30 ackley mag
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
can someone give me some info on this cartridge?

One of Us
Picture of waterrat
posted Hide Post
I have a 300 H&H imp 30 degree shoulder in a pre-war mod 70 if thats what your looking at. It's the same capacity as a 300 Weatherby but with sharp shoulders.

I tend to use more than enough gun

Posts: 1410 | Location: lake iliamna alaska | Registered: 10 February 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
i am the same to much gun is better than not enough.got this gun cheap at auction.i already got 3 300's but it was too nice to pass up. you know the feeling.anyway i got the dies with the deal now i gotta figure how to load it.

one of us
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by 2 dogs:
i am the same to much gun is better than not enough.got this gun cheap at auction.i already got 3 300's but it was too nice to pass up. you know the feeling.anyway i got the dies with the deal now i gotta figure how to load it.

I have some data from P.O. Ackley's book. pm me your email & I will scan the 2 pages & email them to you.

Posts: 2357 | Location: KENAI, ALASKA | Registered: 10 November 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Snapper
posted Hide Post
Worked up a load for a friend using IMR4350 w/65 grs @2,900 fps if I remember correctly. 5 shots touching at 100 yds and was a pleasure to shoot. Brass he had was 7 mag expanded and shortened about .25 inch to headspace in the gun.

He took 2 Caribou at 400 yds with one shot a piece and was pleased.

Posts: 767 | Location: U.S.A. | Registered: 08 March 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
2 Dogs

Don't forget, the 300 Ackley is a wildcat and comes in many different sizes and shapes. If you do not have any fired cases it would probably be a good idea to make a chamber cast or run a Magnum cases into the FL die to see exactly what you have.

Ray

Arizona Mountains