New
Find
Notify
Tools

7mmTCU
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I've been thinking about getting into hunting deer and pronghorn with a handgun. I've got an old Contender with a couple barrels that I've played with some. Of the barrels I have, I think the 7mmTCU is probably the best for the mule deer and antelope I will be trying for.

So, my questions is, Does anyone have any particular experience with the cartridge and loads for it? I've loaded lots of rifle ammo over the years, but never loaded for this cartridge. Any advice on bullets? I have been shooting a 7mm Mag for over 30 years, but I would imagine the 160-175 gr bullets I use for it are the wrong choice for the TCU. What velocities can I expect out of the 10 inch barrel?

Any and all info is greatly appreciated.

Cheers

Mac

Posts: 1638 | Location: Colorado by birth, Navy by choice | Registered: 04 February 2001Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
My old Speer manual #11 only gives velocities from a 14" bbl. With that, max load for a 130 gr bullet yields 2287 fps over H322, while you can get 2080 fps with their 160 gr bullet with H322 and a couple of other powders. With the higher BC of the heavier bullet, I'm guessing you could use your heavy bullets, sight in at 150 yards, and be point blank and deer-killing deadly to around 200.

Depends on your twist though. I'd probably try the Hornady HP 120 gr bullet if I had to pick one and live with the result.

Posts: 142 | Location: southwest Missouri | Registered: 07 February 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Bobby Tomek
posted Hide Post
From the 10" barrel, there is only one bullet that truly shines for the purpose of deer hunting, and that's the 120 grain Nosler Ballistic Tip.

Using H335 powder and Rem 7 1/2s, you can expect just over 2000 fps at the muzzle, and the bullet will perform flawlessly out to at least 175 yards.