Find
Notify
Tools

Which maker/model do you love/hate?
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of daniel77
posted
I love Smith & Wesson Double action Revolvers.
I love Ruger Single Action Revolvers.

I have a 657 S&W (which is the Classic Hunter, unfluted cylinder, .41 mag) and I absolutely love her. My dad bought us a pair, with sequential serial numbers, when I graduated high school. I don't think he's fired his. I can not make that claim. My wife has a 629 with about an 19 inch barrel (or so it seems) that she wanted and I couldn't talk her out of. I must admit she shoots it well and has yet to develop the flinch I knew would come (I do load it light for her). I also have a S&W 38 that belongs to my father in law that I won't talk much about in case he thinks about it and asks for it back, she's pretty sweet as well.

My heart belongs to the single action revolver, and Ruger fits my pocket book and performance expectations perfectly. I'm sure that I could love another maker as well, but I'm in no hurry to explore further. My single six is probably the most fired gun that I have ever owned. She is a part of me. I have aspirations of acquiring a Vaquero in 45 LC in the near future.

As far as hate goes, I can't say that I really hate any of them. I did have an experience with a Glock 17 that my friend's dad owned, right when they came out. The trigger was terrible and you couldn't hit a barn with the thing. It may have been a lemon, and I know most of the Glock guys are die hards, so they must be doing something right, but I wouldn't want one based on that one experience. I could also see one shot tomorrow that impresses me and change my mind. I have also had a love affair with the colt python, but I can't justify that kind of money on a pistol at this time. MY .02

Posts: 3628 | Location: cajun country | Registered: 04 March 2009Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post

Posts: 298 | Location: Antioch | Registered: 09 April 2009Reply With Quote
One of Us