New
Find
Notify
Tools

Glock 26- thoughts.
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Looking for my first pistol. Have been looking around for a while. A few important guidelines for me:

-I'm a college student, only want to pay in the $500 range.

-For the same reason as above, I want to be able to shoot cheap, as I plan on practicing a lot. So I want to go with a 9mm.

-Must be small enough for concealed carry but big enough to shoot comfortably for a day at the range. I am 6'4" and have big hands, for what it is worth.

With this in mind, what do you all think of the G26? Have found one (new) for $480 shipped.

If I did get it, any suggestions on an IWB holster?

-----------------------------------------
"I went to the woods because I wished to live deliberately, to front only the essential facts of life, and see if I could not learn what it had to teach, and not, when I came to die, discover that I had not lived. -Henry David Thoreau, Walden

Posts: 891 | Location: Tanzania | Registered: 07 December 2007Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of griz78
posted Hide Post
If you can shoot one before you buy, you'll know right away if you want it or not. They are very reliable. But try this. Close your eyes and bring the gun up like you gonna shoot. Open your eyes and see if you are looking down the sights. This is the ONLY problem I have with Glocks. When I hold it up in front of me, the front sight is so high I would probably miss a center mass shot from not too far away.

Doesn't happen to me with Colts.

If this happens to you, you gonna need a lot of practice before natural aim comes easy to you.

I'm not trying to discourage you. Glocks are good guns.

Posts: 357 | Location: Louisiana | Registered: 27 March 2009Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I have the same problem with Glocks. I don't like the grip angle. It is similar to the Luger.