Find
Notify
Tools

Warning Shot?
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of griz78
posted
More than once, it has been mentioned that a verbal warning could be given to BG to deter him from his present course of action. At what point would you consider a warning shot appropriate?. Assuming the BG isn't deaf of course.

If that occasion for a warning shot should arrive, and you have a semi-auto, would you take the shot and hope your gun doesn't jam?

Personally, I think it's a waste of ammo.

Posts: 357 | Location: Louisiana | Registered: 27 March 2009Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
With 30 plus years of law enforcement lots of it as a trainer I don't belive in or train warning shots.

If you have the legal right to defend yourself or others against an attacker using deadly force.

One should be shooting to stop the threat if it is safe to do so.

If the situation is such that you think a warning shot is going to stop the threat I don't belive one should be shooting because most likely the threat isn't serious enough yet. Other wise you would be shooting to defend one self. If the attacker hasn't listened to the times you yell at them to stop, don't come any closer, drop the weapon. They most likely will not pay attention to a warning shot.

That said I have known of a couple of situations that warning shots were fired against impact weapon carring attackers that after the shot they dropped the weapon. One a knife other a hammer.

I belive they wanted to commit suicide by cop but when the gun went off they decided it wasn't what they wanted after all. Smart by the cop who knows it worked those times they did not have to shoot the person. But police work is differant then defending oneself. Over all police are surpose to use the less amount of force that one can get away with and still get the job done.