Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Meat Hunting?
 Login/Join

posted
What's the story today, with meat hunting. You know, like shooting pigs, donkeys, camets, roos or whatever to sell to processor or maybe a zoo or...? Does anyone still make a living at it?

Posts: 11017 | Registered: 14 December 2000Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
There are professional roo hunters, think they average about 1000 000 animals a year. Not all roo's go to the chiller, know a bloke that was shooting for skins only. It was something like 3% non head shot skins allowed any more and he would loose his licence.
There was and maybe still is a feral pig carcass export market.
The above is in NSW, the commercial use of game/natives in Victoria is illegal, unsure about the other states.

Posts: 787 | Location: Melbourne, Australia | Registered: 15 January 2002Reply With Quote
posted Hide Post
Thanks, 416 ... I still dream about hunting for a living.

Picture of Bakes
posted Hide Post
There's a pig chiller in Katherine that operates in the dry season. They are paying $1 a Kilo. Heres the deal. You must have a tray that confirms to set standards. Stainless steel tray (cost $1000) with no corners, freash water on board etc. Head shots only and pigs must be at the chiller within the hour. Most guys catch them with dogs tie them up and take them to the chiller alive then kill them. At best the money you make will pay for fuel. And if the chiller goes tits up like he has before your $1000 out of pocket (you'll have a nice tray for your 4x4 though).

Camels are mustered and run through the meatworks or exported live.

Donkeys don't have enough meat on the to make it worth while so I've been told. 2 donkeys to make a horse, 2 horses to make a buff, may as well just shoot a buff.