New
Find
Notify
Tools

Rifle & Scope Selection
 Login/Join

Picture of Gonzo
posted
I’m fairly new to shooting, but I occasionally shoot clay pigeons, hunt whitetail (shotgun only in Ohio), plink with my .Marlin 22LR, and started buying handguns about five years ago. Back in the early 70’s I took a Riflery Class in College, shooting .22LR Anschutz Target Rifles, and loved it, but that was only a fifty foot indoor range…

I would like to take it to the next level, move up to a center fire rifle and shoot longer distances, but thought I should start conservative. I realize there is a lot to learn about shooting for distance, so before I buy an “extreme†rifle set up I'd better learn the basics. If I had to make a choice today, I would likely buy a Remington 700 SPS Varmint in .308 (a 700 XCR Tactical Long Range if I could afford it), but I haven’t got a clue about optics…

Your advice would be appreciated. What should I look for in a rifle, and are some better than others “out of the box?†I doubt I’ll have deep enough pockets for much custom work, except for some minor things. As far as optics, I intend to start at 200 to 400 yards, but would like to go much further than that…

One of Us
posted Hide Post
I am not the go to guy on this stuff, but if I were starting off I would be looking at Savage. I have had several in both light and heavy barrels and it is not hard for to get them sub moa.

I think Leupold is the best bang for the buck. I do know folks shooting Millet and Bushnell and they do very well.

308 with 175gr bullets will go to 1k and beyond. The trouble you will run into is not enough elevation in the scope. I have 20moa Farrell mounts and ring on both of my f class guns and scopes with 30mm tubes.

Good luck

“I am an American; free born and free bred, where I acknowledge no man as my superior,
except for his own worth, or as my inferior, except for his own demerit.”
Theodore Roosevelt (1858 – 1919)