New
Find
Notify
Tools

BIG FALLOW STAG!
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
Just on dark today I bagged a big fallow stag I have been hunting for 3 years in a row.
He is no longer in his glory days, the trophy has gone a little downhill as I'd estimate him at around 9 years old.
Tomorrow I will cape him out, take some photos and check his teeth for and exact age.
Just for the details I took him with a Sauer 202 in .243win.
I think this caliber is a little light for fallow deer, as I have found them to be somewhat toughter than boar in many cases, so I opted for a spine shot at about 60meters after a short stalk.
Very good day today!! [Big Grin]

Posts: 2283 | Location: Aussie in Italy | Registered: 20 March 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Congratulations EXPRESS,
I can't wait to see your photos!

Posts: 1525 | Location: Hilliard Oh USA | Registered: 17 May 2002Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of NitroX
posted Hide Post
Express

Great. Where in Italy were you hunting?

A 243 sounds like a tidy no fuss rifle for fallow to me, with 100 gr bullets.

Posts: 10138 | Location: Wine Country, Barossa Valley, Australia | Registered: 06 March 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Yeah I know, Nitro, in Australia a lot of people use a 243 for fallow, but I believe that the fallow here are a bit bigger and a lot toughter.
Once I shot a spiker 3(Browning BAR) times with a 30-06 behind the shoulder and into the ribcage, he must have made 600 - 700 meters.
In any case I like the Sauer 202 rifle no matter what the caliber and consequently shoot well with it. I try to take out bone when in doubt.

I took this deer on my property in Tuscany,
I'll try to post some pictures, or better yet find someone I can send them to for posting...

Seeyalater

Posts: 2283 | Location: Aussie in Italy | Registered: 20 March 2002Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of NitroX
posted Hide Post
Near what town in Tuscany?