Find
Notify
Tools

Hardest Game
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
Hi guys

What do you think is the hardest big game hunt in Europe?

I don't mean by reference to cost or limited populations but actual difficulty in acquiring a specimen...

I have limited experience but certain areas of Scottish/Irish forestry are virtually impenetrable thanks to trenches dug by heavy machinery and hundreds of horizontal tree trunks/stumps masked by grass...making hunting really challenging. Add spooked animals being shot by forestry officials and sika deer are probably my most challenging hunt thus far.

I imagine that hunting chamois and mouflon can also be rather taxing...

All views welcome!

Posts: 2359 | Location: London | Registered: 31 May 2003Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Claret_Dabbler
posted Hide Post
Sika have developed a reputation for being hard to hunt in Ireland. They are also reputed to be the toughest animal for the size around.

I have seen a few travel amzing distances when well hit, and a lot further when badly hit.

Just because you are paranoid, doesn't mean they are not out to get you....

Posts: 1484 | Location: Northern Ireland | Registered: 19 February 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Wild boar unless driven, because they are so cunning and nocturnal. Also searching and the the hauling out of the woods at night is not always a pleasure.

Posts: 8211 | Location: Germany | Registered: 22 August 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I find Sika Deer hunting is very similar to hunting whitetail in the US - certainly a challenge.