New
Find
Notify
Tools

Pistol hunting in the UK?
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Has anyone attempted to (legally)hunt in the UK with a UK spec handgun/pistol eg: minimum 12" barrel and an overal minimun lenght of at least 24"
My .44 mag develops enough ftlbs to hunt with and there are others with .223 and .308 pistols. Just wondered if anyone had given it a go?

Dan

When the SAS trooper was asked under oath, why he had shot the terrorist 15 times he replied "because I ran out of bullets"

Posts: 100 | Location: Croydon, England | Registered: 11 October 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I have a 6mmBr H&S precision longbarrel pistol which I hope to have for vermin shooting.I had to use it for target shooting for a few months so I could get use to using it.(The police decision not mine as I have been using firearms for the last 27 years)I will apply to have my certificate amended soon.It is a very accurate pistol and will acive 1/2" groups at 100 yards.

One of Us
posted Hide Post
Neil, where did you get the HS from? I wouldn't mind one of them myself. I use a Competitor .44 and that is very accurate for a straight wall cartridge gun,it will print one inch groups benched, but not bagged, using sandbags is now boring as it will send them all through the same hole!! It is far more accurate than I'll ever be.

When the SAS trooper was asked under oath, why he had shot the terrorist 15 times he replied "because I ran out of bullets"

Posts: 100 | Location: Croydon, England | Registered: 11 October 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Hi Dan,I got my pistol from the rifle store(08707701941).It took 12 months to get it from the USA but it was worth the wait.

One of Us
posted Hide Post