Find
Notify
Tools

Re: .22 K-Hornet
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
DD,

I also agree about the case shape.When intelligent loading tyechiques are applied to the regualr .22Hornet accuracy and case life are just as good as the "k" version.

I always ONLY neck size my fire formed Hornet brass about 2/3 of the way down the neck.The rest of the case stays as fired formed and this along with GOOD bullets and a bit of load tinkering with LILGUN powder gives me great accuracy and long case life with every Hornet I have worked with!

one of us
posted Hide Post
Well, I guess the jury has spoken.

Posts: 9647 | Location: Yankeetown, FL | Registered: 31 August 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I started shooting (and loving) the Hornet 30+ years ago, but always wanted a Fireball, mainly because I thought it to be optimum in efficiency. My Hornets (Sav 340, H&R's, Kimber 82, NEF's) were seldom w/o their "issues", but that was before the Lee collet die, or LilGun. Never bought a Hornet neck-sizer, which was probably my biggest mistake, as I threw away a LOT of split neck Hornet cases (and I know annealing would help, and do that now, but most reloaders darn sure don't).

In '92, I had a 788 in 222Rem setback to Fireball, and my Hornets started spending a lot more time in the safe. It (along with a 700 Classic in Fireball) likes virtually anything I feed it, something I certainly do not see in my Hornets.
Most of them (including the Kimber) would puke on 60-70% of the loads; fortunately most shot some combo from good to great.
I have witnessed some high-dollar Hornets shoot like crap, which I doubt would have happened in Fireball, hence the somewhat bad "rep" the Hornet has. Ruger didn't help when so many of their Mod77 Hornets were a POS.

I will probably never be w/o a Hornet, but I think that, on average, Hornets can often frustrate the average shooter/reloader, unless "directed" to buy a CZ (which also happens to be available in 221).