Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Coyotes Everywhere!
 Login/Join

posted
Okay somebody help me out.....Last night a buddy and I went out calling here in Iowa and with the full moon you could see awesome because of all of the snow. We made 4 different stands but nothing came running in...we start off our sequence with howls like a male and female and the whole countryside would explode with coyotes!! I'm betting there were at least 8-10 different howls back at us but nothing came in. After the howling sequence, we would let it rest for a few minutes and start in with the PC-2 rabbit screamer. Still nothing?? Does anybody know whats going on cause we know that they are there but just not coming in. And yes we walk into the wind and where great camoflauge!!

Thanks,

Fast Freddie

one of us
posted Hide Post
I'm no expert but try just the rodent call at first,,,you may be turning them off with the howling

Location Western NC,,, via alot of other places,
One wife
Two kids
Three Glocks
and a couple cats.

Posts: 376 | Location: Western, NC, USA | Registered: 29 April 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Flippy
posted Hide Post
try the rabbit (prey) call first. howling is great for finding out if coyotes are around, but it will usually not bring them closer.

if they don't get closer than 75-100 yards or so, they aren't coming in. move on to another spot or take your best shot. try using a different voice (call), and call for 15-20 minutes.

it would be a good idea to have a shotgun or other close range weapon just in case they come in on the run.

have fun.

JUST A TYPICAL WHITE GUY BITTERLY CLINGING TO GUNS AND RELIGION

Definition of HOPLOPHOBIA

"I'm the guy that originally wrote the 'assault weapons' ban." --- Former Vice President Joe Biden

Posts: 1700 | Location: Lurking somewhere around SpringTucky Oregon | Registered: 18 January 2005Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post