New
Find
Notify
Tools

buckshot/ slug gun for yotes
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I am relatively new to shotguns and I just bought a new 870 Express mag. I intend to use it for close-cover coyote hunting with #4 buck and would like to be able to shoot a nice light 2-3/4" slug for longer shots without having to change barrels or choke tubes. Is there any combination that would allow me to take a coyote sized target with a 3" buckshot out to 40-50 yds and hit one with a slug that might hang up at 100-125 yds? What kind of group (without rifling) should I expect from a shotgun? About how much drop is there at 100 yds with a 1 oz. slug traveling at an advertized 1600 fps from a 26" bbl? Thanks for any suggestions.

Dog-duster

Posts: 61 | Location: Colorado | Registered: 08 April 2003Reply With Quote
posted Hide Post
Not sure on the ballistics of different slugs but if you plan on hitting a coyote with a slug gun, you will need decent sights. The bead deal is too wishy washy for coyotes if you ask me.You can shoot them from your IMP cyl. bbl but I wouldn't expect much. As stated,you need a good sighting system and or a good slug bbl. If your field bbl has sights, go for it,but a bead will never cut it unless you try it on paper and it happens to impact where you consistantly hold. It can be done though as alot of old timers can shoot beaded bbls with slugs to their max range pretty good,but a winchester black shadow($229) from wally world will consistantly group at 100 with ease. As far as buck shot,the #4 copper plated is favored arround these parts.Any large shot will blow them to kingdom come at the right range. Good luck and use the buckshot and call 'em in to ya! Loads of fun that way, jerryboy

[ 07-27-2003, 02:11: Message edited by: jerryboy ]

Posts: 8 | Location: Indiana | Registered: 21 May 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
dog duster,

Most rifled slugs fly best out of open chocked shotgun barrels.