New
Find
Notify
Tools

Coyote calling question
 Login/Join

<duckster>
posted
I am fairly new to coyote calling. How far from your vehicle to you go before setting up? Just curious. Thanks.

duckster

one of us
posted Hide Post
Well, it depends. If there is a farm yard near by, I just park the vehicle there since the coyotes are used to seeing vehicles. I then go around 300-500 yards away. With the owners permission of course. If the terrain is hilly then only around 300 yards since the dogs don't usually circle behind much more than 200 yards and if the vehicle is hidden, this doesn't seem to bother them. Not many people call coyotes here so they aren't too afraid of parked vehicles. Now if it is moving then so are they.

Posts: 71 | Location: Saskatchewan, Canada | Registered: 30 October 2002Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Duckster - I don't think there is a hard, fast answer to your question. Sure, the ideal situation would be to get your vehicle out of sight and as far away as reasonable. But the biggest coyote I ever shot came up on me from behind and went right past my vehicle! Go figure.

Here is the bottom line with coyotes. They are smart animals...but they aren't BORN knowing all about varmit hunters. They gotta learn it the hard way or be taught by mom and pop.

Coyotes in areas heavily worked by varmin callers can be really cagey. Coyotes that have never heard a call or seen a varmit hunter can be dumb as a post.

You have every degree of smarts in between. On one end the animals will come to anything. On the other side of the coin, they will run the other way at the sound of a call. I've seen them do both.

Posts: 19677 | Location: New Mexico | Registered: 23 May 2002Reply With Quote
<duckster>
posted