Find
Notify
Tools

Pros and cons of an N E F
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of bm-3
posted
Hi guy's, I'm new at this varmint hunting game. I have a 10 year old son (and he is a south paw) that want to go pdog hunting. I'm looking at a N.E.F in 223 with a 6 x 18 Burris scope. I have a small pdog town we can go to, but the short range to shoot is about 130 yards. He can hold his own with hand guns but want to move up to long guns.

Can you guy help?

Posts: 86 | Location: Idaho, Boise. | Registered: 20 March 2005Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Back in the 70's when a single shot was all you could get, I had an H&R Topper. This an OLD, OLD NEF single shot]. It was in .22 Hornet. It gave me a "Nickel" size group at 150 yards. No problems with it.

Posts: 355 | Location: Roanoke, Virginia | Registered: 29 May 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Sounds like a lot of fun so get something for sure.

Those top break guns are ok for shotguns but the triggers are stiff for a rifle. One would get by I suppose. Get something better and you will save the cost of another transaction.

A bolt rifle will be easier to operate for a 10 year old and for anyone from the prone position. Kids like repeaters too.

I would keep looking. On the other hand the .223 is just about ideal for PD's.

Join the NRA

Posts: 5543 | Registered: 09 December 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
bm-3: the NEF is also available in the 204 Ruger, as another option. The often dismal triggers can be corrected by NEF (at no charge), plus some come from the factory quite acceptable (as seen on a 45-70 recently purchased by a fellow shooter).
The barrel addition program is another nice option, increasing its versatility.
The NEF/H&R's, in general, shoot great compared to the old "H&R's", where it was a crap shoot on accuracy.