THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM VARMINT HUNTING FORUM

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Hunting  Hop To Forums  Varmint Hunting    Upgrade the Mini-14 or Buy a Bolt Action Rifle for Varmint Hunting

Moderators: Canuck
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Upgrade the Mini-14 or Buy a Bolt Action Rifle for Varmint Hunting
 Login/Join

posted
I am new to varmint hunting and have a SS Mini-14 Ranch version that I am thinking of having it accurized through Accuracy Systems in Colorado.

I am not sure if I should buy the Harmonic Stabalizer plus front sight for about $400 or spend over $700 and have a new 20" Krieger SS .920 Bull Barrel, trigger job, and their steel pin bedding system. The latter is guaranteed to shoot sub moa. I plan to use the rifle as a varmint rifle for ground squirrels and coyotes.

I spoke with a few friends and they said to forget about upgrading my Mini-14 used the money to buy a new Savage rifle in .223 and/or .22-250.

Any thoughts on semi-auto vs. bolt action for varmint hunting. Should I upgrade the Mini-14? Should I get a bolt action rifle?

XMan

Posts: 13 | Location: Southern California | Registered: 04 August 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
In particular, the Mini-14 is not tremendously accurate. It is not so much a question of Semi-auto versus bolt action, as it is a Mini-14 versus another gun for varmints. A Mini-14 is a great gun - I have a Ranch Rifle in .223 that is fun. But is not a gun for tiny targets far away. You will spend as much to buy and accurize a Mini-14 (in my opinion) as you would to get a good AR-15 that will still shoot more accurately than the accurized Mini-14. I use a bolt action Savage or CZ 527 for my varmint hunting, and both were "good to go" right from the box, although I did adjust the trigger on my Savage to be a little lighter.