New
Find
Notify
Tools

Re: 2230 for .204
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I think it was Groundhog Devastation that did the testing with the AA2230 in the .204 Ruger. Here is some of the information I gathered his post and printed it out for myself. He was using the 32 gr. V-Max bullet with AA2230. REMEMBER!!!!! You are responsible for your own life and limbs if you use these loads. I have no knowledge whether these are safe, WAY over MAX or what.

GHD used the following loads for the following speeds in the .204 Ruger caliber:

27.7 gr. AA2230 = 4,178 fps (good accuracy)

28.3 gr. AA2230 = 4,279 fps (great accuracy)

28.5 gr. AA2230 = 4,304 fps

28.7 gr. AA2230 = 4,409 fps!!!!!

He noted that there were slight pressure signs on that last load of 28.7 gr. of AA2230----flattened primers and shallow cratering. No loose primer pockets noted though. He said he shot multiple groups with the 28.3 gr. load on different range test days and got the same velocity results.

Posts: 192 | Location: Northwest North Dakota | Registered: 19 June 2004Reply With Quote
Picture of slopjock
posted Hide Post
Thanks for the help silverfox. I've been printing off everything i can on the .204 as well, this was one that i forget to get. i just bought a pound of 2230 over the weekend, so i wanted to try a few loads with it.

thanks

one of us
posted Hide Post
slopjock-- GHD recommended you start at around 26.0 gr. of AA2230 and work up. That sounds like a good plan to me.

Posts: 192 | Location: Northwest North Dakota | Registered: 19 June 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
silverfox, Thanks for reposting those loads for this thread.