Find
Notify
Tools

Fox Problem
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of Aspen Hill Adventures
posted
Well there is a fox frequenting my pasture for chickens. I thought I had a hawk problem but was wrong. [Frown]

Saturday morning at just after 6 I saw said fox and in the dim light I did take a shot at him with my 22. I did not hit the running fox but must have been close after the ducking and diving he did.

I finished a fencing project to secure my birds in a smaller area. Naturally they are unhappy.

Afterwards I searched the bordering woods looking for a den and was unsuccessful.

Questions:

Will a shot at fox return?

Extermination...Am I best off trying to trap or poison this animal? If so, recommended poisons or traps. I work for a living and am not on the farm day and night.

Someone suggested coyote urine. Sounds time consuming with frequent application an thus would become expensive.

Am looking for advice!

Posts: 19545 | Location: The LOST Nation | Registered: 27 March 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of 308winchester
posted Hide Post
I would guess a trap is that way to do it. I would belive that the fox will return, unless you hit it ofcourse. Some sort of box trap that you catch the fox unharmed in, then you shot him with a 22. I don't like foot traps and simulare. If the are sett so that they snap the fox's neck it ok, but requers a good deal of squill to sett up. It also kill dogs. Poison is not an option for me, it's kill everything without separating and also it's illigal overhere.

Setting out some bait for it and then spending a night or two at the bait might lure him in.

We once had a fox in out chicken pen. The pen is inside the barn. It killed 15 out of 25 hens, it had the time to take one of them!

The rest stoped laing eggs so we had to kill them to.

My father shot a fox cub that year and we didn't see any more that year. The cub was out in broud daylight searching for dead mice in the freshly cut grass not far from our house.

Johan