New
Find
Notify
Tools

groundhog and raccoon bait
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I bought a box trap at the flea market yesterday. This is my first year with a vegetable garden, and the groundhogs and cottontails have been munching my peas. I have been shooing them as I see them, but a trap keeps hunting when I'm at work.

What bait for groundhogs? Two people told me to try apples, so I bought an apple to try. What else works, preferably something in season now?

My sweet corn is looking good, and I know the raccoons are waiting for it to be ripe. Besides Tuna or sardines, any good raccoon bait?

Can I shoot groundhogs or raccoons in the trap without worrying about the blood smell ruining the trap? Should I drown them instead?

Thanks

Jason

Posts: 582 | Location: Western PA, USA | Registered: 04 August 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I don't know about groundhogs but raccoons I use use this when trapping them. about 2oz of peanut butter few tea spoons of honey and a couple of drops of anise oil.

raccoons just love it. Just put a teaspoon of it in the trap and I'll think you well have luck

Posts: 19415 | Location: wis | Registered: 21 April 2001Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
might be worth a look-

http://www.gemplers.com/search/baits

they sell a groundhog lure, too. I didn't see it listed at the website, but have seen it in their catalog.

Posts: 3314 | Location: NYC | Registered: 18 April 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of oopswasthatyourdog?
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by tin can:
might be worth a look-

http://www.gemplers.com/search/baits

they sell a groundhog lure, too. I didn't see it listed at the website, but have seen it in their catalog.

It's there, they just call it woodchuck bait. Wink