New
Find
Notify
Tools

need tips on coyote
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Out of the goodness of my heart, I've recently decided to become the gardian of the many helpless wild turkeys and quail that reside peacefully on my hunting lease, (so that they may be more pleantiful to hunt) by taking up coyote hunting. I am new to coyote hunting and would like any tips and pointers for eradicating or at least trimming down their numbers giving my poor fowl friends an edge in their costant and tiring darwinian struggle. Could some of you more experienced varmit hunters please share with me the best time of day and year, type of call, and just general advice for the varmit beginner. I'm using a 25'06, and can hunt over a large field or in thick brush.

thanks. Jeff

Posts: 35 | Location: Dallas, Texas | Registered: 23 October 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
404Rodda: I always recommend the Primos Raspy Coaxer call ($9.00 or so) for my friends who are new and just getting into Coyote Calling!
By coincidence I was down in Texas for the first time just 2 months ago. I was archery Hunting Russian Boar near Decatur, Texas. I was Hunting from three stands most of the time but one day I was in a ground blind. On this morning I saw a Coyote Hunting out in a large field about 300 yards distant. I used my Primos Raspy Caoxer to bring that Coyote within 60 yards quite quickly. Alas that Coyote did not come any closer. Anyway I know this call works well in Idaho, Montana (where I live), Washington, Oregon and Wyoming in addition to Texas!
Hunt into the wind, stay still, call for 15 to 20 minutes at a site, calling every two minutes for 20 seconds at a time. Start squealing quitely (as the Coyotes may be close) then increase the squeals volumes - and keep after them! They are out there as you well know. Do not be discouraged if Coyotes are not called in at every stand. I get about one in five for day Hunting and one in three for night calling.
Good luck and more later