New
Find
Notify
Tools

.222 Remington: Still Used?
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Is the .222 Remington used much for varminting? I don't see many references to it so I'm guessing it's not encountered much. Looks like the .204 Ruger on one side and the .223 Remington on the other side of the .222 Remington?

Thank you.

Buliwyf

Posts: 2627 | Location: Where the pine trees touch the sky | Registered: 06 December 2006Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I still use my two though I do use my rifles in .223 Remington more. One is a Sako L46 topped with a 12X Unertl; the other is a Remington 722 topped with a Weaver K10. Both are deadly accurate. I have no experience with the .204 Ruger.

TreeFarmer
NRA Life Member

Moderation in the pursuit of decadence is no virture.

Posts: 262 | Location: PA & VA, USA | Registered: 26 June 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Avatar
posted Hide Post
Yep, a Sako A1 in .222 Rem with a 3-9x Leopold.
Superbly accurate and a delight to shoot.
No way I'm trading for any .223 or .204 even though it does seem to be on decline in popularity.
Just because it is not as popular anymore dosn't mean it aint good....

Posts: 408 | Location: The Valley, South Australia | Registered: 10 January 2003Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Skinner.
posted Hide Post
I prefer my .222 Remingtons to any other cartridge for shooting ground squirrels. Matter of fact I'm gonna build another.

One of Us
posted Hide Post
Yep, I have a CZ 527 varmint in .222 love it to bits! mine shoots flatter and smaller groups than my mates .223 tikka varmint ( both use home loads with 50gr Vmax and Vit N133 powder) Here in N.Ireland .222 is the max we are aloud to use for fox control.

Posts: 290 | Location: N.Ireland | Registered: 12 October 2006Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Grumulkin
posted Hide Post