New
Find
Notify
Tools

New, NEW Varmint Pistol!
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
Well the good folks at Yellowstone Gateway Sports in Bozeman, Montana finally came through with a new Varmint pistol for me. I do not recall if I posted on this board the strange situation I had befall me in mid December of last year!

I had been shopping for several months for a good deal on a Smith & Wesson Model 647 revolver in caliber 17 HMR! I had been seeing them on occassion in my travels for anywhere from $529.00 to $569.00. On December 19th 2,004 I was shopping at the Yellowstone Gateway store in Bozeman and spied a nice Model 647 there priced at $539.00. I checked its timing, fit and finish and was impressed with it. At that time a Smith & Wesson factory representative approached me and stated that these revolvers in 17 HMR were all especially accurate! This "fact" I had previously become aware of by my perusal of many internet sites as well as several in person conversations with 647 owners. The S&W rep also told me that the pistol was on sale that day for $50.00 off the marked price! And they were throwing in a very nice high quality S&W clip style folding knife! I jumped at this deal and threw down my hard earned greenbacks!

The next day I went to my local range with my new prize and wanted to put this revolver through its paces with two kinds of ammo and see what it liked and see how it grouped before I mounted a scope on it. The main reason I bought this pistol was to have it along on my upcoming Ground Squirrel Hunts for use on the "close ones"! Several of the ranches I Hunt Gophers on are really "plagued" by the Gophers and they want them all shot! I have been passing on the close ones for years and needed a good rimfire pistol to cut down on the close in ones also.