New
Find
Notify
Tools

Re: Barrel life
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
Kooshball, I am no expert either on barrel life but I do own a 22-250 that is getting close to a thousand rounds through it. I can see no difference in it yet. As with any caliber a little care and common sense go a long way, I load well below max and take several rifles when shooting p-dogs. I'll open a can of worms here, I believe in moly-coating both the bullets and the barrel, seems to have worked so far. The 223 should have a longer barrel life due to the smaller case capacity, the 223wssm on the other hand is said to be a bit of a barrel burner( I would like to hear from someone who owns one). I hope the 204 is down there with the 223 on barrel life. Just my 2 cents worth.

Posts: 130 | Location: East central Kansas | Registered: 18 September 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Kooshball & Jbhewitt: Barrel life is of the utmost concern to me as I have had to re-barrel a couple of Varminters in my time!
I am of the mind that hot barrels should NEVER be shot! Period.
That is why I often take several Rifles (up to 14) on high volumne Colony Varmint shoots. I prefer to Hunt away from the VarmintMobile so that means I take two Rifles at a time into the field and ammo for them. This is difficult but necessary in my opinion. I then simply switch Rifles when one warms up. Often, both, in good shooting situations will be to warm to shoot, and I spend the cool down time spotting for the biggest Varmints in my range of fire. I let them cool with the action open to the wind and the muzzle elevated as much as possible. I lean them on my day pack and/or my tri-pod and let the chimney effect help move the air and cool them.