Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Mouth Calls
 Login/Join

posted
Hi I am new to calling i was wondering what the good mouth calls are. I will be hunting coyotes in Iowa fairly open and some timber. run them in trucks now but want to get into calling. any advice would be greatly appreciated

one of us
posted Hide Post
I like the Lohmans Circe (not sure about the spelling) it is green and has 3 positions, close,medium,and long range. The medium position has worked well on coyotes, gray fox, bobcat, wild dogs, deer, and even skunks. It sounds very close to rabbits that my dogs have caught. I have not used another brand in a long time, because this one works so well. I have heard good reports from, Knight & Hale, as well as Primos. Check out some of the videos as this really helped me with how it can be done. Good Luck

Posts: 590 | Location: Georgia pine country | Registered: 21 October 2003Reply With Quote
posted Hide Post
Thanks for the advice Rug anybody else out there with some more thanks nick

one of us
Picture of Bob in TX
posted Hide Post
You can now get some custom calls with hand tuned reeds for about you you pay for the factory calls.

I have 3 recommendations for you:

1. Since you live in Iowa, give Rich Cronk a call. He is a master with open reed calls and howlers. I am sincere about calling him. He has been doing this a long time and lives in Council Bluffs. Here is his web-site: Cronk Predator Calls Link
You can get his phone number on the web-site. Tell him Bob Connell asked you to call.

2. I would order a closed reed call from Joe Bradshaw at ArkyYoter Game Calls. Joe makes one of the best line of custom calls today period. He would be another one to call!! Closed reed calls are easier to use. Here is his web-site: ArkyYoter Calls Link Tell Joe Bob said to call.