THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM VARMINT HUNTING FORUM

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Hunting  Hop To Forums  Varmint Hunting    Re: Winchester M70 Classic Ultimate Shadow Stainless

Moderators: Canuck
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Re: Winchester M70 Classic Ultimate Shadow Stainless
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I have plenty of experience with the Ultimate Shadow Stainless and can recommend the gun with little reservation.

My dad owns one in 7mm WSM and he has killed a mess of game with it already. Our friend has one in 270 WSM and he has shot a bunch of wild hogs and an antelope that I witnessed.
I just got through working up loads for a 300WSM that shot remarkably small groups. These are great rifles, a good concept and I really like that stock.

However, I have had pretty sorry luck with the Super Shadow Super Short in 223 WSSM. Mine was so bad that I sold it and the guy who bought it sent it back to Winchester. They sent him a new rifle and it would not shoot either. He sent it back and got a third rifle. All of them shot poorly and he finally just rebarreled it with a custom barrel and made it a 243 WSSM. So far, it seems to shoot pretty good.

I think your choice of that Camo Stainless in the 25 WSSM is about the wisest of the bunch for predators. The barrel life should be good and that stainless steel rifle with that camo stock is a good deal.

The 300 WSM I just worked with was very easy to adjust the trigger down to an even 3 pounds, no problem.

Even with all you hear about feeding problems, all these rifles that I have worked with have fed cartridges quite smoothly.

R F

Posts: 1220 | Location: Hanford, CA, USA | Registered: 12 November 2000Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Painted Horse
posted Hide Post