THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM VARMINT HUNTING FORUM

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Hunting  Hop To Forums  Varmint Hunting    20 yr. anniversary for favorite gopher spot!

Moderators: Canuck
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

20 yr. anniversary for favorite gopher spot!
 Login/Join

one of us
Picture of mt Al
posted
Fellers,

Yesterday after church and a few home chores completed I had the kids and wife laughing their butts off as they watched Freaky Friday. It was the perfect chance to get out and shoot some grass rats.

On the way out to the place I remembered that this was the 20th year shooting gophers at this location. Its on public land and, thank God, I�ve only been there one time where someone else was shooting. I was a sophomore engineering student at MSU and my high school hunting friend found out about the place and the rest is history.

The shooting is rarely �hot barreled� but there have been days where the carnage has been impressive. Regardless, going out to there has always provided a chance to unwind, pray, laugh and sometimes just lay on my back and watch the clouds pass by. I�m very thankful for every chance to get there.

Years ago we brought out a youth group of some semi-troubled kids to shoot and had a little contest. The scoring was simple: �three points an ear�. The kids had the time of their lives and the national organization for the ministry nearly freaked out, giving kids .22s and shooting furry creatures. Tons of fun.