New
Find
Notify
Tools

VarmintGuy Wins Bennelli
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I never win anything! Until last night anyway. I attended the Three Rivers Chapter of Ducks Unlimiteds Banquet here in Dillon last night. Two of my close friends and Big Game/Waterfowl Hunting buddies came as my guests. I had never attended a Ducks Unlimited Banquet before (I am new to Duck/Goose Hunting) and I had heard they were fun. The food and company were just wonderful! Among the several "chances" I bought was an entry into a drawing for a Bennelli 12 gauge 3 1/2" Magnum Nova Shotgun. Well of all the firearms I own I only have one shotgun (a Remington 870 12 gauge 2 /34" modified choke) and it does a lot of things well like Pheasant and Grouse Hunting but for Ducks and Geese I have needed a magnum for a couple of years now! Anyway for 30 bucks I got one of the 30 numbered DU Hats that also gave me a chance at the Bennelli! Low and behold my number (#26) was drawn! Did I take a razzing from my friends!
My luck was to continue! I also won a camoflaged bucket seat, another DU hat, a $40.00 gift certificate for my favorite Dillon restaurant (The Lions Den!) and unbeknownst to me I got a neat DU print of two Wood Ducks, a set of beautiful wine glasses with DU logo with my entrance ticket. And I bought a set of 4 mugs with the DU logo! Fun night. I went to town today to do the paper work on the shotgun and I looked at some of the 3 1/2" Magnum waterfowl loads - uhhh... sticker shock ensued!
But I was just thrilled to win a firearm and amazed at the prices some of the auction items went for!
Can't wait for next years banquet.
Oohh I plan on taking some flying Varmints with this rig ASAP! Maybe even a Coyote or a Turkey come spring season!
Hold into the wind
VarmintGuy

Posts: 3067 | Location: South West Montana | Registered: 20 August 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post