Find
Notify
Tools

Knapsack for varminting?
 Login/Join

one of us
Picture of holzauge
posted
I'm new to varminting and I'm finding that none of my packs are really suitable for the job. I hunt eastern groundhogs and need to move around a good bit. 80% of the time I'm able find a rest for my shot, but 20% of the time I need a tripod. I need a good way to carry that tripod. The pack I use fall/winter deer hunting has a suitable internal pouch, but it's too big, heavy and sweaty to carry varminting. I've been using a hiking pack with outside elastic bands, but the tripod falls off or gets tangled up in the bands, making it hard to get at when I need it. I carry my range finder and extra ammo in my pockets, my binocs on my chest, so all I need in a pack is room for a little water, snacks, odds and ends, and a good way to carry that annoying but necessary tripod. How do you guy cope with this?

I also like to carry a low seat to keep my butt dry and out of the chiggers and ticks. I've learned deer hunting that it's easier to sit still waiting for the prey when you're comfortable. Can anyone suggest a solution that won't tangle, rattle and bump against my rifle all the time?

Posts: 621 | Location: Commonwealth of Virginia | Registered: 06 September 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Holzgauge: Excellent question. I have used all manner of day pack back packs for the last 35 years of my walkabout Varminting needs. I bet I have used 10 different packs. I finally settled on a pack that Remington Arms sold for a few years about 15 years ago. It is camoflaged and has padded shoulder straps. It holds my tri-pod, laser rangefinder, my small spotting scope, water bottle, rear sand bag, extra sandbag and two 50 round or one 100 round MTM boxes.