THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM VARMINT HUNTING FORUM

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Hunting  Hop To Forums  Varmint Hunting    What are realistic results in P\D shooting?

Moderators: Canuck
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

What are realistic results in P\D shooting?
 Login/Join

posted
I am new to the Prairie dog shooting sport. I bought a 22-250 Encore and have been shooting about 6 times. My results very wildly in similar shooting conditions. Some days 25-33 % some days 75% . My shots are taken from 100 to 300 yards. I don't expect to hit all shots but I really think it is my gun. But my ? is for you guys that have been doing this a while what is realistic.? Is the bolt action the only way to go? I do reload 36 gr. varget 52 gr.bthp. I am considering a Rem. Varmint Lam. in 223 I know there is more to shooting than the gun but you must have the proper tool for the job. Please comment on this subject. Thanks

one of us
posted Hide Post
Depending on distance and weather conditions with a stable platform to shoot from I would say about 90%. At a minimum 75%.

Posts: 1557 | Location: Texas | Registered: 26 July 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
What size five shot groups are you getting at 100 Yds. ? What power scope do you have on your rifle ? Are you useing a rifle rest ? What are the wind conditions when shooting ? A seven Lb. walking or a12 Lb. target- varmit rifle ? A prairie dog is about a 3X9 inch target ,pups 2X5 inches. Give us some data . Only accruate rifles with large power scopes are fun prairie dog rifles.

Posts: 193 | Location: Nebr Panhandle | Registered: 13 March 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of rjrobb
posted Hide Post
Get the 223. You will be able to shoot it when the 22-250 is cooling off. My friend bought a 22-250 first(ruger 77 varmint) and I got a 223(rem VLS).