New
Find
Notify
Tools

VARMINT RIFLE, QUESTION'S
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Hello, I am considering a 22-250 or a 243 cartridge in a cz varminter. Any of you fellas have any experiance with this gun/ caliber combo. Also any help as to factory ammo,and bullet selection would be of help too. Just trying to minamize pelt damage.

one of us
Picture of BigNate
posted Hide Post
If you are saving fur niether of these are as friendly as several other choices.

I have a fav .223 load for the mini-14 that rarely exits, and one for a contender that won't. I've no experience with a .204, Tactical 20, but the .17 Rem also did well for a friend of ours.

Of these two I'd pick the .22-250 ( I still use), and use bullets that are pretty frangible but will stay together. Blitz, TNT, Hornady spsx, Sierra & Speer fbhp with large opening( there are a couple different ones) all come to mind. The FMJ was not useful in my experience. Also as one of the other threads here suggests, try a shotgun with larger shot.

You could wind up with a llooonnnngggg thread over this one! Smiler Nate

Posts: 2376 | Location: Idaho Panhandle | Registered: 27 November 2001Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Hey thank's Big Nate, I have talked to a couple of men who, who I think don't really care about pelt damage. One of them shoot's a 204 he likes it but I don't think it takes alot to impress him, and I don't think he's killed that many 'yotes .The other is strickly against 22 centerfires for coyote hunting. I think he uses a 6mm/284 and a 25/06. I have seen a fiew of his kill's and you could definantly see through them. This man's killed ton's of coyote's in kansas and texas. There are more long shot's possible here than short one's. I have hunted fur with a 10 ga shotgun #4 buck and it is deadly. But as you know limited on range.

One of Us
posted Hide Post