THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM VARMINT HUNTING FORUM

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Hunting  Hop To Forums  Varmint Hunting    DIY custom target/critter getter (lots of pics to download)

Moderators: Canuck
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

DIY custom target/critter getter (lots of pics to download)
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
This is my first attempt at modifying a gunstock for target and critters. It's actually a Savage mod.112 that started life as a 22-250, then went into a 6BR life, and now has come back again as a 22BR. It was out of commision for action repairs and I thought I would do some playing with the stock, which was a laminated BVSS stock.
It went through alot of different colors during a one week time period, and I learned a few things about paint. Such as "paint needs to cure". In one weekend I had put on 6 rattle cans of paint. All those wet layers of primer, color, and clear coats came back to haunt me, "big time". A couple of weeks later I re-worked it and it turned out pretty well for a beginner. Here are some pics that I hope post well of some of the process.......

It went through alot of color changes in that one weekend and ended with a red color. It didn't cure or dry out for me so I had to re-work it into something else. This was the next attempt. It's a blue metal flake, nd I'm happy with the way it turne out. t's setting on the bench now letting the bedding dry. I'm really lookig forward to shooting it off some bags.

I know... I really got carried away with the pics. But I wanted to get pics of most of the project...
Spring time with tagets and critters... "COOL"!!!!

Thanks tootalloutdoors

bugling elk-proof that God exists

Posts: 52 | Location: N.W. Montana | Registered: 04 February 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post