Find
Notify
Tools

Scope on AR-15 handle
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of MAU MAU
posted
I am new to Coyote hunting and am trying to avoid purchasing another rifle. I have a Colt AR-15 with the handle, and am wondering if anyone has had any luck mounting a scope that will keep its zero. I have read many articles about bedding the mounting plate, but all mention that it may still shift around. I appreciate any and all suggestions.

Posts: 227 | Location: New Hampshire | Registered: 01 August 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I dono I've had them mounted on a couple ar's for several years and they have'nt moved you do have to make sure its a decent mount and that the screw is tight, then shoot it some and retighten

Posts: 13442 | Location: faribault mn | Registered: 16 November 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of pdhntr1
posted Hide Post
Pre-fit and make sure the mount can't be moved in any way when it is placed into the channel. I was able to adjust (bend) mine to fit the channel which solved the problem so far. If you can do it I would suggest bedding and as Butchloc says, keep the screw tight and you shouldn't have any problems.

Also, I am very careful when handling and transporting. Any whacks to that area and I am checking the zero with a round.

Thanks both of you for the info on the O/U.

Jim

Please be an ethical PD hunter, always practice shoot and release!!

Praying for all the brave souls standing in harms way.

Posts: 731 | Location: NoWis. | Registered: 04 May 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of IdahoVandal
posted Hide Post
I have used the Leupold mount on my shorty upper for going on 6 years now with a red dot sight and it has held zero just fine. I did tighten down with channel locks and loc-tite however....

IV

minus 300 posts from my total
(for all the times I should have just kept my mouth shut......)

Posts: 844 | Location: Moscow, Idaho | Registered: 24 March 2005Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post